European Parliament
Below you can find the bodies of the European Parliament of which I am a  member. You can find more information about the ongoing work if you follow the link to the corresponding sites.
Plenary session
The plenary sittings are the high point of parliament's work. This is where all the work done by the committees and political groups culminates. The plenary sitting is also the forum in which the 736 representatives of the citizens of the European Union take part in Community decision-making and express their standpoint vis-à-a vis the Commission and Council.
Committee on Constitutional Affairs (AFCO) - Title: Vice-President
This committee is responsible for among others the institutional aspects of the European integration, the implementation of the EU Treaty and the assessment of its operation, the inter-institutional relations, the political parties at European level and the uniform electoral procedure.
The AFCO is also responsible for observing the the pan-European political parties.
Committee on Transport and Tourism (TRAN) - Title: Substitute Member
The committee is responsible for matters relating to the development of a common policy for rail, road, inland waterway, maritime and air transport, in particular common rules applicable to transport within the European Union, the establishment and development of trans-European networks in the area of transport infrastructure and transport safety; as well as postal services and tourism.
Committee on Women's Right and Gender Equality (FEMM) - Title: Member
The committee is responsible for the promotion and protection of women's right in the European Union and in third countries, the equal opportunities policy, including equality between men and women with regard to labour market opportunities and treatment at work; and the implementation and further development of gender mainstreaming in all policy sectors.
The delegations maintain and develop the Parliament's international relations. Accordingly, delegation activities on the one hand, are aimed at maintaining and enhancing contacts with parliaments of States that are traditionally partners of the European Union and, on the other hand, contribute to promoting in third countries the values on which the European Union is founded, namely the principles of liberty, democracy, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the rule of law.
EU-Moldova Parliamentary Cooperation Committee - Title: Member
The relations between the European Parliament and the Parliament of the Republic of Moldova are conducted within the framework of the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement. The task of the EU-Moldova Parliamentary Cooperation Committee (PCC) is to consider all aspects of relations between the EU and the Republic of Moldova. It was established in 1998 and meets twice a year.
ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly - Title: Substitute Member
The ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly was created out of a common desire to bring together the elected representatives of the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific states ("ACP countries") that have signed the Cotonou Agreement: it is the only institution of its kind in the world. It is the only international assembly in which the representatives of various countries sit together regularly with the aim of promoting the interdependence of North and South.
A significant part of the work of the European Parliament (plenary sessions and committee meetings) are webstreamed on the website of EP Live.
Print page